image

Born 1st August 1974 with a complex disfigurement of the skull. Similar to a cleft palate but in my forehead. My eyes were positioned round towards my ears, a 4″ inch ravean in my forehead,2 bumps positioned on my eyebrow line just above my nose. And my nose was the same length as the width of an average thumb.
image

From the age of 7 1982 I started a long and winding set of Maxifacial operations. Performed at the Southern General Hospital Glasgow,by the same team as Operated on the boy David from Brazil. Apart from Dr Thomson who adopted david.
  The first Operation was a 18 and a half hours on the operating table. 27 days recovery in intensive care and 4 further weeks on the childrens ward. A further 50+ operations followed untill the age of 14 1988.
  Bullied daily because I was different and people were scared of the unknown. Daily repetative name calling,pushing,shoving and worse. Where I grew up you either fought back got strong,or curled up and gave in.
  
image

Yes I stood out in the crowd and I was the odd man out. But hey how amazing can that be !! , let me explain , I have an inbuilt story. Mother nature dealt me this oddity aswell as strong mental ability , broad shoulders and a stubborn streak. I had and still do have an answer for everything,sence of humour and determination to prove people wrong.
  Yes the daily battle was painful,depressing,hurtful,questionable,distroying but charactor building, drive building, powerful,Spiritual and friendship building. I know all too well that it is hard and people children especially are cruel and petty. Yes even now at nearly 40 I still get strange looks name calling ect.
image

Here is the best part I have served my country 10+ years as Guardsman and Marine , been a NHS Nurse , Coached sport at all levels,qualified as a Physio,personal Trainer, Traveled 3 quarters of the world and got married with 4 gorgious children. There is a brighter side to all the anguish and hurt.
  And I know everyone is different but we are also the same I chose to make my victimisation work for me instead of putting me down. I rose up and grew into who I am now
This Strong,polite,personable,educated and grounded person. I personally am thankful to all my bullies,doubters and haters Family,enemy or stranger alike.
  You are and always have been the wind in the sails of this great ship that has sailed above and beyond that of most of your lives. I have no regrets or hang ups at all yes I am hard on myself and sometimes put myself down too much (some who may read this know this well) but I am here and doing things my way despite it all ;).

PLEASE ANYONE BEING PERSICUTED OR BULLIED BY OTHERS SEEK HELP
(Talk to someone deal with you first ignore and become deaf to the doubters and haters) Rise like the Pheneix and show your guiding light.

Comments
  1. shaunynews says:

    Wouldn’t have you any other way Brian. I remember beating people up for you as a kid. We been buds for 30 years now!! That’s like forever πŸ˜€

    Never change mate, I love you as a mate just the way you are..
    Your ways with kids and adults I seen working with you is amazing.
    You are a stand up lad, and a man I have total respect for.
    I never treated you different, mates give each other a hard time, and this we do well to each other πŸ˜€ I am glad you are here because it allows both of us to be Scottish πŸ˜€ In a place where people may be offended when in-fact we are just playing.. lol

    Your a good lad Brian…Great blog!!
    Reblog!

  2. shaunynews says:

    Reblogged this on shaunynews and commented:
    The story of my best mate in real life, 30 years we been friends. We grew up being able to see in each others windows. We played football as kids and we always had each others backs. Brian’s story is remarkable but he doesn’t tell it for him, he tells it for others, this is the type of lad Brian is. One of the best Scotsmen I know πŸ˜€
    Brian, your ma bud, you know that mate.

  3. Tienny says:

    OhΒ Β another bullying case. I can understand

  4. Just Patty says:

    Brian you are totally awesome and I love just the way you are!
    I am very proud of you for showing this courage and tell us about yourself. (you can’t see me, but I actually grabbed my pom poms and doing a victory dance on your behave!) πŸ˜‰
    Lots of love and huge dragon hugz! ❀
    Luvz ya bro!

  5. Just Patty says:

    Reblogged this on petitemagique and commented:
    The story totally awesome friend and wolf pack member Brian! ❀

  6. vinnieh says:

    Such an inspiring post.

  7. Karen says:

    You have achieved far more than the usual Tom, Dick, or Harry. ⭐
    Ignorants and bullies have made you stronger. You have found inner peace and have awesome values. I feel honoured that you count me to your blogging friends, Brian. πŸ™‚

  8. sachemspeaks says:

    People need to learn to look through the eyes into the heart, the outside can lie, the inside is true, my friend!

  9. Brian, Praises for your post! Patty “sent me over” from her blog!!! Your story of courage & service will do much to help others. And a very nice website! Try mine! Phil from http://excuseusforliving.com/

  10. Reblogged this on Bishop Eddie Tatro's Study and commented:
    Please stop by and read my good friend Brian’s blog, look at his amazing story!

  11. kyangel17 says:

    Really impressive Brian. After about 28 hours of torture in our hospital this past January, I have refused to go back there again. Having chest pains that are getting worse every day, but will die at home with a smile on my face and leave a letter behind letting my family know why I didn’t call for help before I died rather than return there and face the torture and neglect from the understaffed place again. You look great, so your doctors did things right for you. Wonderful blog.

    • fozzbloglife says:

      The wonders and failings of medacine and medical proffesionals. I marvel in awwe when it goes well and I scream and kick when it fails. Your indapendant and strong will are a marvel , I feel your pain and understand :). I choise to help and if by some small part my story and I can assist mentaly,physicaly or socialy in making someone feel better and smile or realise they are not alone ;). Thank you and god bless your friend in blogging πŸ˜‰ always

      • kyangel17 says:

        I’ve been kicking and screaming about it since January. You have assisted me mentally, relieved a lot of the stress that was causing my chest pain, made me realize all I needed was some sodium bi-carb and a good belch, plus a good long rest, so all better tonight. Now just waiting for a call from the hospital giving me names of the person or persons responsible for the continued harassment.

      • fozzbloglife says:

        glad I could be of assistance and glad you are feeling better. Hope you get the answers and names you are wanting πŸ˜‰ Fozzy

  12. Noel says:

    Awesome story! Bullying is a terrible thing. Thanks for the inspirational post.

  13. Dr. Rex says:

    Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    Be proud, my new found friend & bother!! Hugs …

  14. Fantastic blog. I admire you for all your achievements. Thank you for sharing and caring. πŸ™‚ Susan x

  15. itetudor says:

    It’s so inspiring, turning odds into worth. So glad I could read this….thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

