Who Is Behind The Mask (my life) part3

Posted: January 26, 2014 in Random

image

image

Well operation number one done !!, recovery well on the way. Two weeks at home and the bandages start coming off.First is the bandage turban revealing a scar that crosses my skull from ear to ear, small spots parallel along it where the Staples had been (342). Along with the best shaved head I had ever seen .
Half way along the scar line is a dip in the skull which hasn’t quite healed properly leaving a change in hight from front to middle. It has also forced the hairline back about 2-3 inches.
Neatly adding to the first ever scar forming a cheese wedge type scar and segmentation of the skin .
The eye socket area is slightly larger than usual and one cheek bone is higher than the other as part of the socket set.
My nose is around 3 inches longer than at start will be even better once the swelling completely goes. The colours in my face are amazing a full painters pallet of mixed colours from pale yellow too dark purple and black.

The bullies have started again a well here it goes. E.T,Alien,Four Eyes ,Freak and many more. Again and again on a daily basis. Pointing, laughing and whispering a daily occurence.
Pinning my smile on my face and holding my head up high . Walking down the street with an answer for them all faster harder and quicker every time.
Quite a few are changing their minds and starting to get bored . it is taking a lot of fortitude to keep it up. Shutting my door and crying some days once home .
Not even my Parents realise how hard it is or what is going on. These operations are a fix all for them,as if the determined will give up !!!.
More stitches out and the scars checked total stitches so far 300 . Feeling stronger every day doing my home study. I received a mass of cards hand-made from the school . Everyone has made and written their own get well message.
This is a Major step and confidence builder without thinking or trying. Popping in to say hi to everyone real soon miss them all.

So my days consist of walks with mum , home study, day time tv and rest . Roll on going back to normality and school.
It still hurts and scars are tender but its worth it so far £150 Get Well money from family and friends . Many trips to the Jolly Giant probably the largest toy store in britain .And feeling more confident and relaxed in myself.

image

The return to school was fast paced but enjoyable , less bullying and more support from my peers. This is good just hope the rest of the world takes note.
That is too much to ask but not disheartened at all the support is better and I really don’t care what people say.

Back to full normality and getting stronger and more stubborn every day.        More and more people hating the fact that I am around and still happy.
Far more joining the friend band wagon and socially I am getting more respect whoo hoo ;). The next 7/8 months are much the same Personally growing stronger. Proving doubters wrong and changing opinions all the time .
First appointment back in Glasgow with the team. Oh god hope it’s all went to their plan !!!. As I sit in the waiting room heart starts to pound palms swet and I feel sick. Here we go my name is called let’s go meet the construction squad. As I walk in the room it is filled with smiling faces and everyone shakes my hand. So I assume it has all gone well, and thankfully I am right.
Although the next Operation idea is wheeled out , I don’t like it but let’s get on with it . Only two months too wait and not as long this time.
This was the start of 58 minor/major operations to tidy up the edges as they put it.
Through all of the varying time scales and severity of surgery,my sense of humour and confidence shine through . Picking up more friends and admirers on the way.
The bullies and haters still do their thing but friendships grow stronger and deeper. New and old alike things are looking up . The transition from Primary to secondary education is relatively seamless.
The Brian’s new-found confidence , height and sence of humour are winning the day . Catching up well with missed work every time. Keeping well instep even though each year 3-4 months off during term. Untill I was 13 when I had my final operation, and even I think the look is great all considered.
The next year was actually quite deadly as due to my operations there is a minute hole left in the membrane between nasal passages and brain.
In the June of that year after a great mornings swimming.I suddenly have the headache from hell , puffy eyes and sore muscles.
Yeah like all of us the start of a cold !!!!! , Well we were all wrong it was “Meningitis”. As I throw up and start to burn up(to touch) , even though I am freezing and shivery,can’t look at bright light ir bend/move my neck or shoulders.
Rushed to Ninewells Hospital Dundee scaring my parents and grand parents to death. 3 lumbar punctures and 2 days later I end up conscious and on the ward.
Feeling miles better and able to stand and move my neck. The three weeks of recovery begin. Wow what the hell was that and why me. Another 2 lumbar punctures and immune system booster I get to leave the hospital.
Straight back to normal and off we go this shouldnt happen again.
While on holiday in Shropshire in the July I went swimming daily diving and sprinting through the water.
This particular evening my Aunt and Grandad take me for a meal , which was amazing Stake Diane followed by a large slice of Black forest Gataue and cream.
After bed I fly off the top bunk bed throw up and pass out , high temperature shaking and overtion to bright light. Yeah ring any bells , you guessed it Meningitis again, off I go to the Shropshire General hospital.
2 and a half weeks  of the recovery process in a Victorian hospital building up a great medical knowledge and little collection of pretty nurses to write too .
As you can see confidence is high despite the hold ups in normal service. Oh and building a very good grasp of hospital food across Brittain.
Things return to normal and back at school slowly creeping towards November. While competing for the school in swimming I take part in the 100m crawl,breaststroke 200 butterfly and 400 individual and team medley.
While resting at home my head feels tight and skin stretched/taught. Off I go to bed and sleep, a short time after that I awaken rush to the toilet throw up and hit the floor . I wake up on a gurney heading for the City Hospital Edinburgh, lucky white heather I have meningitis again.
Thankfully after this everything settles and apart from one more minor operation that is the end of the operations for now.
All the maxifacial operations I can deal with I can’t take anymore . I am done happy enough with the results and couldn’t care what people think.
The way I look now has arrived and aint gonna change for anyone or any reason.

image

Now I can motor on with rest of my life study hard and play hard. On the school Rugby,Hockey,Basketball and Athletics teams. Catching up well academically and I have a brilliant Social network.
The new approach and look seems to be paying dividends for me, might well have been Upsetting,hard,painful and something I really wasnt sure about. But it also goes to prove that with the right mental attitude and personable approaches anything can be done.
Joining the Armed Forces at 16 is very plausible even though the doubters are saying because of my face I wont be accepted !!!.

Leave a Reply

